President Yoweri Museveni has nominated six people to replace the outgoing leadership of the Electoral Commission.The tenure of the Electoral Commission under Eng Badru Kiggundu, ended yesterday November 17, having served since 2002.President Museveni nominated Justice Simon M. Byabakama to take the chair of the Commission.

A few days back there was speculation that the position was supposed to be filled by either a Muganda or a muslim like he did with Kasujja and Kigundu, but the president did otherwise by nominating a Munyankore to the position. Here are the rest of the names awaiting parliament approval.
Deputy Chairperson: Hajjati Aisha Lubega
Member: Peter Emorut
Member: Stephen Tashobya
Member: Prof. George Piwang
Member: Mustapha Ssebagala Kigozi
The presuident has forwarded these names for parliamentary consideration and approval.